Hello, My girlfriend and I are thinking about entering an IVA

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
6 posts Page 1 of 1

Clive

Post by Clive » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:03 am
Hello,

My girlfriend and I are thinking about entering into an IVA, please can you help me by answering some questions.
1) What happens if our salaries increase within the 5 years. Will all the extra money go to our creditors?
2) What happens if personal situation changes? ie we split up or if we need to move for family reasons?
3)How much control do we have, do we need to send payslips and bank statements every month?

I hope you can help as I am very nervous as I do not know what the future holds. I have no experience with these finical matters and need some decent advice from someone who has my interests at heart.

Kind regards

Rickne

Post by Rickne » Tue Apr 08, 2014 12:18 am
Youre income would be reviewed annually based on what you can afford.

Payslips etc are usually reviewed again annually including a p60.

Question 2 needs a proffessional or experienced answer. :)
Completed via Early exit loan on year 4

luluj

Forum Expert

Post by luluj » Tue Apr 08, 2014 2:24 am
Welcome to the forum. An IVA is individual to everyone based on their level of debt and their icome and expenditure.

It is recommended that you approach two or three providers initially to talk through your situation before deciding on one to represent you. A good starting point is www.iva.com

An iva is aimed at making the best return to creditors possible over it's duration.