Meeting of Creditors

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
16 posts Page 1 of 2

sosilly

Post by sosilly » Mon Sep 01, 2014 8:09 pm
I am currently in the process of entering an IVA with my husband and we have been informed our meeting of creditors is on Friday 12th September and to ring at the time stated on the letter so the meeting can proceed. I am new to all this and I would appreciate any advice on how the meeting will progress, what the format is. Can creditors vote before the meeting and can we find out how the votes are progressing before the meeting and if there are any modifications will the IP ring to discuss before the meeting or wait until the meeting date. Another issue I have is with my car finance with ford. I have a 3 year lease which I just renewed in June to a newer model for the same payments previously paid, however I am worried if ford find out I am in IVA they will want car back. It states on the small print that if a bankruptcy petition or meeting of creditors called they are entitled to end the agreement. Are they made aware of the IVA or would they have to find out by checking insolvency register. at the end of the 3 year you can either trade in for a new model or own the car by paying the balloon payment. I have recently changed bank accounts (due to IVA) and I've changed by direct debits over and the car payment was due to come out the new bank account today but it hasn't and when I rang ford credit they said the new bank details are on the system but they can't see yet on the screen if its been rejected but when I called the bank they said the direct debit was there but it hadn't been taken yet so will have to ring ford back tomorrow to see whats happened but I am worried they already know about the proposed IVA and going to make arrangements to take the car back. Any advice in these areas would be greatly appreciated. Soo worried! Many thanks x

Shining

Post by Shining » Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:02 pm