F + F Payment

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
9 posts Page 1 of 1

lordramlington

Post by lordramlington » Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:36 pm
Hi,

The question I'm posing is not for me but for a friend who isn't too tech savvy, so I'm asking on their behalf.

They are currently 2 years into their IVA and are paying £200 per month on a debt of just over £20,000. They are 65 and self employed. Business isn't great the moment, hence the low monthly payment and they were wondering if they offered an F+F payment would it be accepted?

The money would come from a friend and the max they could get is £7500. He's told me that the IVA company he is with have advised him to stop paying the £200 a month to "prove" to the creditors he is struggling and this would make them more inclined to take the F+F.

Personally I'm not sure stopping payments is a great idea, but I'm not an expert in the field so I wondered what people here thought to that idea? Also do you think an offer of £7500 is likely to be accepted on debts that totalled just over £20,000. I know he's been paying £200 for the past 24 months but with IVA fees taken off the creditors will have only seen a small return.

Thank you for reading and thank you for any advice, it's much appreciated. Also if it makes a difference my friend is 65.

Thank you

Foggy

Post by Foggy » Tue Jun 30, 2015 10:18 pm
Hi. If the IVA runs to term on the current payments the creditors are looking t get around £7200 back ( assuming your friend doesn't own their property -- which could trigger an extra 12 months ).

So, on that basis I would expect an offer iro £6.5 - £7k to be looked at seriously.

Yes, they are already taking a hit, but collecting quarterly dividends cost more in admin than it would to deal with an early lump sum.