My mother is wanting to gift me some money. Is it possible to use this as a F&F ?

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
6 posts Page 1 of 1

Juliet.mc

Post by Juliet.mc » Mon Nov 16, 2015 9:12 pm
I have 18 parents left on my IVA at £130 per month.

I am a full time student, due to graduate next month.

I do not yet have a job lined up.

However my mother wanted to gift me £1500 as a graduation gift (she is unaware of my IVA).

I am aware that any windfall like this needs to be paid into my IVA.
2 questions I have:
Firstly, is it possible to offer the £1500 as a F&F payment on the IVA given I will have no employment or income come January? Or am I disadvantage myself as the creditors can still request the money and turn down my F&F. I do not wish to inform my mum about the IVA for personnel reasons. Do I have any options here?

Secondly my mum has offered to book me and my children a holiday for next summer instead of the gift of money. If I can't work out a way of putting the money towards a F&F offer without my mum knowing, is it ok for my mum to book me a holiday instead of giving me money? We've not been away since before the IVA and if I can't use the money for F&F this would be a nice alternative.

Although I don't yet have work for January, I am sure I find work easily so am not concerned about my ability to make payments into my IVA if I don't accept the money for my mum.
I just wondered if the fact I've yet to gain employment and can make this offer might help my request for a F&F payment?

luluj

Forum Expert

Post by luluj » Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:40 am
When offering a f&f creditors will want to know where the money has come from and may seek confirmation from that person direct. The fact you have managed this so well whilst studying is a credit to you.

How do you intend to fund your monthly iva payment from January if no f&f is agreed or no employment is found? Fingers crossed you will but just think about the if not ..