I am at my wits end for my Mum who seems to be worse off than before IVA.

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
4 posts Page 1 of 1

Lauradw68

Post by Lauradw68 » Sat May 21, 2016 10:25 am
Hi there,
My parents began the process of entering into an IVA end of 2015 and it commenced on the 31st December. My mum (who is the sole breadwinner, my dad has had numerous cardiac problems over the decade) had a stroke mid Jan, I think all the stress just took its toll. Obviously, the last thing she should be worrying about is money, so I'm trying to help out (I'm a 24 year only student mid exams atm).

She was deferred for critical illness cover which is being appealed now (she has a very good chance of getting a payout due to permanent neurological damage) but she is scared it will all have to go to the IVA, can anyone clarify this?

The IVA was meant to make living circumstances easier, but she recently went down to half pay, and her mortgage company could only lower payments from £700 per month to £500. She is worried sick yet again, but doesn't talk about it as she doesn't want to stress me out!

I just want to be able to help her as best I can. Shes trying to go back to work asap (she is a nurse) but right now, she physically cannot handle it- she has weakness on her left side and is working hard at rehab to recover but is putting herself under a lot of pressure.

I'm at my wits end for her. She also has MS, which is quite well controlled, but it has been exacerbated by the stroke. Its like she is worse off now than before the IVA; shes broke, anxious and fears any money that could come her way will be take for the IVA.

Advice would be really appreciated, thank you in advance!

Laura

kallis3

Forum Expert

Post by kallis3 » Sat May 21, 2016 11:03 am
Hi and welcome,

I am so sorry to hear about your parents health problems and hope they improve soon.