Should I keep on paying my creditors and never be debt free, or do an IVA ?

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
8 posts Page 1 of 1

Denize.40

Post by Denize.40 » Sun May 22, 2016 12:25 pm
Im in £29,000 of debt which i have been paying off over the last 8yrs. I have been under debt management bodies over the last 8 yrs but found i was paying more to them then my creditors thats why now i have set up direct debits and i pay them direct. I own my own house but took the equity out to start my own business 2yrs ago im now in my second year of trading as a dog groomer. I dont make a lot but enough to live and pay my bills. Im single and have one son of 21 living at home with me. I keep getting companies ringing to say that i could write off most of my debt with an IVA under this new government thing. A company called Money in Control has sent me paperwork etc which im looking into but i dont seam to be able to find anything about this company and am worried if i did go ahead with them would it be the right thing to do. Help! Should i just keep on paying my creditors as i am and never be debt free ( im 57yrs old) or go with this company and do an IVA?

lifenoteasy

Post by lifenoteasy » Sun May 22, 2016 12:43 pm
First of all this is not a new government thing and stay clear of any company advertising like that.

Speak to a few iva companies to get a feel of what is possible, get a clear understanding of what it is all about.
IVA started March 2011, Completed March 2016 and certificate issued 11 days after final payment. It was not always easy but then some of the best decisions aren't.

kallis3

Forum Expert

Post by kallis3 » Sun May 22, 2016 2:27 pm
Hi and welcome,

I agree that you should not touch this company with a ten foot bargepole.

As lifenoteasy says, it is not a government thing and it is certainly not new!