Equity release

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
2 posts Page 1 of 1
Hannah.gd
by Hannah.gd » Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:26 am
I am in my final year of an IVA, and have received a letter saying as per the terms of the iva i am required to release equity from my property. they quote the following extract from my proposal:-

“six months prior to the expiry of my iva (hereinafter referred to as the review date) i will attempt to release the net worth in my home by way of a remortgage.”

they are also requesting a copy of a recent valuation, mortgage and any secure loan statements to establish the level of equity, if any, that i am required to attempt to release for the benefit of my creditors.

i am just panicking and wondered how much equity i would be required to release. the iva and the mortgage on the property is in my name only, i am married but although my husband is not included on the mortgage or in the iva they take into account his income. i am assuming he is also entitled to a percentage of equity within the property because it is the marital home.

can anyone reassure me here? i owed 19k on entering the iva and have paid approx £6,600 into the iva. i have kept all payments up to date, and they say i owe £500 from one of the financial review undertaken two years ago. can anyone confirm how much equity i would likely have to release? my current mortgage is 252 per month and i owe approx £1800 on a ccj attaches to the property.

any help would be appreciated. as my and my husband are relying on our equity for a deposit to move when the iva is completed.
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:08 am