Fiancé going through IVA and forcing me to sign responsibility for part of debt

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
12 posts Page 1 of 1
jessica627
by jessica627 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:35 am
My fiancé is going through IVA and forcing me to sign to be responsible for part of his debt, without any prior consultation with a solicitor or a proof that this debt was repaid(so he says). We have a child together and have been living together for 3 years. I am a full time student and mommy and don’t have any income apart from benefits. Am I legally allowed to become his creditor and sign the document that I accept full liability (including future liability) for part of his debt? Would related people/close family members be allowed to vote in IVA?
kallis3
Forum Expert
Contact
by kallis3 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:44 am
You are not responsible for any of his debt. Was any of it joint?
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:46 am
He cannot shift responsibility for debt in his name on to you --- and you say he says the debt was repaid ... if so there is nothing to take responsibility for.
jessica627
by jessica627 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:08 pm
kallis3 wrote:
You are not responsible for any of his debt. Was any of it joint?