Has anyone else had an IVA accepted when on benefits?

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
18 posts Page 1 of 2
lucy349
by lucy349 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:02 pm
I’ve just applied for an Iva, got myself into some debt as I had to give me job up for the time being as I can’t leave the house. I receive benefits at the moment till I manage to get well enough to go back to work. My Ip has said that even though I’m on benefits I can still enter an Iva. They have asked if for any reason I couldn’t pay the Iva down the line eg. My benefits stopped that a family member would agree to pay it. (Which they have) all this stress is making my health even worse I’m not sleeping or eating, has anyone else had an IVA accepted when on benefits?
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Sat Feb 03, 2018 8:05 pm
There have been a couple of posts recently by people in an IVA on benefits only.
Leigh.p
by Leigh.p » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:25 pm
I am a full time student and therefore don’t have an income as such other than my student bursary, loan and receive top ups of tax credits and housing benefit. They were fine with this as long as my Iva was paid.
Lucy2222
by Lucy2222 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 10:37 pm
Leigh.p wrote:
I am a full time student and therefore don’t have an income as such other than my student bursary, loan and receive top ups of tax credits and housing benefit. They were fine with this as long as my Iva was paid.

Hi thank you. Can I ask how much you pay a month into your Iva for it to be accepted. I’m so stressed about it all it’s making my health worse. I’ve read that sometimes they aren’t keen with taking people with their income on benefits.
Leigh.p
by Leigh.p » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:15 am
I pay £98 per month at the moment, I’m due my first annual review x
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Sun Feb 04, 2018 10:09 am
Lucy2222 wrote:
Leigh.p wrote: