How are self-employed/business expenses calculated in an IVA?

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
6 posts Page 1 of 1

jessharris

Post by jessharris » Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:01 am
Hi,

How are self-employed/business expenses calculated? I am an online consultant, in digital marketing. My IVA has asked to see my previous bank statements, the problem is it will show a large amount going in and out of my personal account. (I don't have a business account because of IVA).

So let's say I received £5k this month, well £4k are spent or reinvested back in my business, whether its marketing costs, hiring freelancers, paying for online tools. That's not immediately evident on my statement though, because some money I transfer to my friend (who handles payments of my freelancers for me), sometimes I withdraw cash which I then pay directly to my freelancer. How can this not be interpreted as me simply withdrawing cash from the cash machine and spending it? Do I just provide my own receipts that I gave to freelancers of mine?

It also shows that I receive money from other sources, freelancing platforms, stripe etc. As that's how my clients pay me.

How does it treat my online ventures? For example, I start a new website and I spend money on advertising that website in order for it to make money. Can they control how much I spend in my online ventures?

I also get sent money to handle marketing of another website, the money sent is not a salary of any kind, it is literally just enough to pay the freelancers I then hire and direct to do the work for that site (social media, ppv, seo).

Just worried they will simply see the amount and think I'm withholding surplus income.

I'm also abroad at the moment in India as a matter of fact, so the freelancers I'm paying are based in India, it's all pretty much cash in hand stuff.

Thanks

Foggy

Forum Expert

Post by Foggy » Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:27 am