I am due compensation due to a serious road traffic accident

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
14 posts Page 1 of 1
john401
by john401 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:44 am
I'm due compensation due to a serious road traffic accident in which myself and step son were involved in , will I have to hand over the full amount ,or can I pay a lump sum and continue my monthly repayments , I ask this as our family car is on its last legs and would like to purchase a newer one , I have also claimed for loss of earnings in this claim
luluj
Forum Expert
Contact
by luluj » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:00 am
I am no expert in this but I believe it depends what the compensation is being paid out for - loss of earnings is likely I would imagine will need to be put into the iva pot whereas compensation for health and ongoing support could be retain ...

Am sure when foggy arises this morning onto the forum he will be able to explain in much more detail on this.
john401
by john401 » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:04 am
I have next to no contact from my iva company and to be honest it has been a complete shambles , I still receive emails and posts from whom I owe money too
Many of the emails state I can pay much less than the original figure and it seems that cancelling my iva and dealing with these are the easier option to going debt free ? :?:
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Tue Apr 10, 2018 6:56 am
Most (most!) IP's follow the procedure in BR regarding compensation in that payment for pain and suffering is yours to keep and payment for loss of earnings gets paid to creditors. Unfortunately, only your own IP can enlighten you as to his views !