Is there absolutely no help for me anywhere?

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
9 posts Page 1 of 1

Jackhalil

Post by Jackhalil » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:03 pm
I'm a sole trader, and was when i entered my IVA (along with my wife). My question, is it true that I'm not allowed any sort of credit, even relating to my business. I'm finding it extremely difficult to run my business, as my cash flow is always depleted due to having to pay up front for all my goods, tools etc.. Is there absolutely no help for me anywhere? Our IVA had to be extended by 1 year due to my wife giving birth to our second child, which caused us immense stress and worry. We have two years left to run now, and quite honestly we're wishing it would end tomorrow.

Shining

Post by Shining » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:31 pm
Hi and welcome to the forum, I know with the permission of your IP maybe you can get a small credit limit to tide your business over maybe?

Always run this by your IP though and one of our professionals will be along soon to confirm.

In my opinion you need to keep your business running to fund your IVA payment. x
IVA final payment left the bank on the 26th January 2013...looking forward to a debt free future.

Adam Davies

Post by Adam Davies » Mon Jul 26, 2010 3:58 pm
Hi
Usual business terms of 30 days should be fine but run it by your IP. Have you considered asking for a payment break to help you purchase stock ?
Regards
Andam Davies

MelanieGiles

Industry Expert
Post by MelanieGiles » Mon Jul 26, 2010 10:28 pm
What sort of business are you in? In general, trading IVAs ought to have an element of credit built into the cashflow, and there is no problem with this as long as it is paid off under normal trading terms.

A payment break, as suggested by Andy, does seem to be a good way of capitalising the business for the future.
Regards, Melanie Giles, Insolvency Practitioner

Jackhalil

Post by Jackhalil » Wed Jul 28, 2010 9:08 pm