iva modifications

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
31 posts Page 1 of 3
niceguy
by niceguy » Thu Apr 05, 2018 12:59 pm
creditors meeting is scheduled on Monday, but called the IP any progress, one creditor so far wants one year extension plus wife needs to do job.
I think one year extension is fine and i can agree on that, but regarding my wife, she is house wife and all debts are on my name, no any join accounts. She looks after school children, pick and drop, full time childcare, as i work full time as a self employed. so dont know what should i do, I live in rented house, no property, just old car worth £1000. debts are over £ 50000. Any advice will be great help.
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:13 pm
If they word it that she "should seek work" it is a marginally reasonable condition. If they word it she "should get work", that is less reasonable. What they are after is that she should be able to bear a higher proportion of household expenses which would give you a little more to pay to the IVA.

You are entitled to your two-pennyworth ..... if it were me I would try to counter by getting the clause worded such that she "should only seek work which would result in a reasonable financial gain, after usual deductions, including full time childcare and school drop off / collection services".

If this creditor has over 25% (by debt value) of those that vote they can still make the rules ... but you are allowed to negotiate through your IP.
niceguy
by niceguy » Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:36 pm
Thanks, creditor has over 25%. Dont know yet actual wordings from creditor, IP told he will forward soon. My wife has not got any degree, and if she gets any job, i guess, will be more financial problem, as might paying full time child care cost, school drop off and pickups, school meals, travelling expenses, and loosing benefits.