IVA or other option..please help if you were in my shoes

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
6 posts Page 1 of 1
ams
by ams » Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:47 pm
Hi There,

I am an IT contractor, and I earn decent wage but I have accumulated 90k worth of debt including 25K owed to HMRC as I lost money in shares (i know I've been stupid, request to please don't remind me in the fourm).
My total outgoings in loan payments are more than I can sustain and I am not able to pay HMRC as lumpsum so I've arrange for payments.
I have little equiity in the house but I'll sell whenever I'll get a decent price otherwise it's no point selling it.

I would really appreciate help from the fourm if someone can guide me ways I can reducme my monthly outgoings with the lenders. However -

1) must not impact my ability to work as an IT contractor, I've read all contracts make it mandatory for employment business to be informed if insolvency is filled ?
2) reduce my monthly outgoings even if it means paying longer term as I can balance my life.
3) Must not attack my house as an asset as I'll keep paying once agreed but rather downsize my house and have roof over head of my family.
4) I do not have monies to pay as I am in tonns of debt and have wife, 2 kids to support.

In brief, I want to maintain trading and have the earnings ability to pay back, also don't want impact upon my home, and protection from legal actions.

I have read a lot about various options but I am not sure which road to take.

Thanks
amit
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:23 pm
Hi -- I am afraid you want to have your cake and eat it too !

Of the possible options:

Debt Relief Order ---- debt too big
Bankruptcy -- will affect employment and might lose house
IVA -- might affect employment, but house protected ( but downsizing during the IVA will be resisted) and impunity from debt collection