Iva payments new job

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
9 posts Page 1 of 1
Blueblonde123
by Blueblonde123 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:43 pm
Hi all

I’ve been in my joint iva for under 4 years. My annual review comes up in October! I’m enquiry is regarding payments. I have been a student for 4 years of the iva and my partner has worked. I have been getting a student income but not very much plus we get tax credits. My question is I’m looking to get a job once I qualify in September and plan on having a full time job due to struggling month on month with money. If I work full time I will lose my tax credits my my income will increase by £800 a month. I can offset allot of that in I&E, I currently pay £200 a month but had to reduce my I&E due to not having enough surplus to meet the payment demands.

1. Will the IP want 50% of the £800

2. If I can prove where I need the extra income can I keep the extra?

3. I don’t really want to work full time but feel I need to as the increase in living costs and my child is older and wanting more.

Thank you for your time

Regards

Blueblonde :D
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:48 pm
The IP is not bound to offset the pay rise by increases in allowed expenses -- these are by negotiation and might not be accepted. However, the loss of Tax Credits should be taken into account and the potential payment increase would be 50% of the net income increase.
Blueblonde123
by Blueblonde123 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:56 pm
Foggy wrote:
The IP is not bound to offset the pay rise by increases in allowed expenses -- these are by negotiation and might not be accepted. However, the loss of Tax Credits should be taken into account and the potential payment increase would be 50% of the net income increase.

Hi Foggy

Thank you for the reply.