Not sure which debt solution is right for me

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
4 posts Page 1 of 1

ian480

Post by ian480 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:26 am
I've spent the last 10-15 years struggling with credit card debt, and have finally decided that enough is enough. I've got about £33k on credit cards, and £9.5k on a personal loan, all of which are in my name.

Our house is mortgaged in both mine and my wife's name, value approx £185-190, mortgage is about £135k. Our mortgage is a fixed rate due to expire next June 2020. I'm an IT contractor running my own LTD company, with myself & wife taking home a salary and dividends.

My understanding is that with bankruptcy, although its quicker, I will have to sell the house, and I cannot be director of my own LTD company anymore? I don't have any other assets as such, my wife's car is leased, and the other car is in my daughters name. I got rid of my leased car a couple of months ago to reduce monthly payments.

I've filled in the Debt Remedy form on the Step Change website, but it is proposing Bankruptcy / DMP & IVA. I'm not sure which way to go.

I've also contacted PayPlan, filled in their form, and was meant to be getting a phone call today to talk about options, but having read some online reviews of PayPlan, I'm now not sure they are for me.

kallis3

Forum Expert

Post by kallis3 » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:37 am
Have a chat with a few firms before making a final decision. With an IVA you will keep your house, with BR you probably will lose it.
Sharing from experiences of dealing with debt
The greatness of a man is not in how much wealth he acquires, but in his integrity and his ability to affect those around him positively.
Bob Marley.
http://kallis3.blogs.iva.co.uk

Foggy

Forum Expert

Post by Foggy » Tue Sep 10, 2019 11:58 am