Questions re IVA

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
9 posts Page 1 of 1
wanttobedebtfree
by wanttobedebtfree » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:32 am
Hi

I'm new to this and finally taken the plunge to speak to someone about my debt! Long story short I have a rather large amount of debt to a fee creditors which I have told no one about, including my partner. I have since been starting the process of an IVA however I have a few questions that are constantly playing at the back of my mind:
1. My mortgage is due to be renewed in 2 years and I worry that at this stage we'll be rejected for a remortgage and my partner finds out why
2. My car finance agreements ends in 2 years and again I would have to try and agree new finance because I have no funds to buy a car and I worry this will throw something back

I know I should tell my partner but he is in a stressful job which I don't want to make worse, and I keep thinking that in 5 years time this will all be over and I can forget about the past debt and move forward.

Thanks in advance
Ryan
Industry Expert
Contact
by Ryan » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:52 am
With regards the Mortgage depending on who your Mortgage is currently with they may be willing to offer you a new rate when the current one expires or a Broker such as ourselves may be able to do similar. You wouldn't be able to re-mortgage to a High Street Lender for at least 6 years from when you enter into an IVA if you choose to do so.

I would imagine it would also be very difficult for you to obtain car finance during that period of time as being in an IVA will mean you will normally fail Lenders credit scores.

Regards
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:59 am