Hi I am in my final year of my IVA

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
15 posts Page 1 of 1

rachael.fs
by rachael.fs » Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:16 am
Hi
I am in my final year of my IVA and have been asked to reakise the equity in my home to satisfy the outstanding debt.I cannot afford a remortgage so have decided to sell my home.Is it true that I only have to pay 75% of the equity to my creditors?
Does this mean I am able to keep the remaining 25%? I agreed to 100p in the £ at the beginning.Also I am considering using a quick sale company who will only pay 85% of te value.
Please advise as I am going grey"ier" by the day.
Regards

Shining
by Shining » Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:21 am
Hi rachael and welcome to the forum, if you were going to pay 100p to the £ by selling your house will you have met with this figure?

I'm not sure of a 'certain' answer and am sure a professional will be along soon to give advise.

rachael.fs
by rachael.fs » Mon Jan 25, 2010 10:36 am
Hi
My house has lost equity and is valued less than it was 5 years ago.
I have paid £12000 already and still owe £46,000.
I have read some where that the max the creditors can ask for is 75% of the equity.I obvously have to start again with renting so would need the 25% , if allowed, to do this.
This will not pay the outstanding debt.
Cheers
Rachael

Michael Peoples
Industry Expert
Contact
by Michael Peoples » Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:33 am
Hi Rachael and welcome from me too.
This will require a variation and permission from creditors. Speak to your IP and explain what you will need to keep after the sale. For example if your credit file is impaired you could need up to six months of a bond should you rent and there will also be removal expenses. It does not really go down to percentages but creditors will normally allow reasonable expenses from a sale.

Depending on the level of equity have you considered a sixth year extension and try and keep the property?

rachael.fs