IVA and IT agencies

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
17 posts Page 1 of 2

Dilbrain
by Dilbrain » Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:27 am
I posted here a month ago with regards to my situation. I have been out of work since Nov 15th. I managed to pay my mortgage and bills up to this point. My IPA agreed to a payment break of 3 months, thereafter a meeting with the creditors looms. This is a new topic however :(
I have worked in the IT indusrty for over 20 years and have had no luck with securing a new contract, heck even an interview. And I have had the correct credentials for these posts , I have a degree and a positive attitude , my CV contains some impressive indusrty leaders.
Yesterday I was on the brink of an interview offer when I was asked about any criminal convictions..I answered no , and then they asked if I was bankrupt or insolvent. When I replied about the IVA...they lost interest.I called a few other agencies with regards to vancant roles , and instead of waiting for news of an interview I told them upfornt about the IVA..in each and every case..they decided not to progress. I am on the brink of losing my family home . I can't get work to pay my IVA because of my IVA...help !
Last edited by Dilbrain on Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

kallis3
Forum Expert
Contact
by kallis3 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 8:36 am
How awful for you! I really don't see why having an IVA should make any difference to any job, but I really can't see how it would affect IT.

Perhaps it would be wise to wait until asked about your finances before volunteering the information? Some companies may not be bothered and if you got as far as an interview you could always phone up anonymously and ask if having an IVA makes any difference.

I hope you find something soon.

Declan at DebtFreeDirect
by Declan at DebtFreeDirect » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:07 am
Hi Dilbrain