IVA proposal

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
9 posts Page 1 of 1
gertrude20
by gertrude20 » Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:06 pm
Hi
This is my first time posting so please bear with me. Have just had my proposal through and i have a few questions regarding some of the conditions stated in it.
Regarding my property ( i have approx £16000 equity in it ) the paperwork states the equity to be released in 2022 would be £2948 does this sound about right? It also states that this can either be through remortgage or secured loan, can they force me to take out a secured loan if I am unable to remortgage? Also could i find this money from elsewhere? thats query no 1.
the next question is regarding my NHS pension contributions can they make me stop paying these as the percentage I pay into it is double what the proposal says should be the maximum and I dont believe I am able to reduce contributions.
Thirdly the company (payplan) want to register a restriction against my property at the land registary due to the equity release, is this normal? and lastly (for now) it states that the supervisor may delay the closure of the account if ppi claims are outstanding, what PPI claims? do i have to do this ( dont think i am due PPI refund) and if so does the amount claimed back go to creditors or payplan. Thanks in advance for your replies
Michael Peoples
Industry Expert
Contact
by Michael Peoples » Thu Mar 02, 2017 3:22 pm
Sounds like a standard document to me but I can understand your queries.

1. You only need to release equity if it is more than £5k so that figure does not make sense. You should not be expected to release £2948 as this would be deemed 'de minimis' i.e to little to be concerned about.
2. You can remain in a pension scheme but you may be asked to show that what you are paying is the minimum requirement irrespective of the percentage. This varies from scheme to scheme and your age.