DMC extending my payments to 72 months despite never missing a payment and paying more than original agreement.

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
7 posts Page 1 of 1
ayesha
by ayesha » Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:17 pm
Im in my final year of my IVA with only 8 payments left. I have never missed a payment, and have ended up paying more than the original amount as i got a new job and had additional income. At the beginning i declared my debt as the Debt Management Company advised me, though the Creditors claimed for more. All this information was made available at the beginning of the IVA agreement.

My Debt Management company have now told me i'm in breach and there is nothing i can do, because a creditor has sold the debt to someone else, and they want to claim for the higher amount (even though my DMC have had this information since day 1)

They are now telling me i have to pay another 12 months so 72 months of payments

If have already paid more than the initial claim, and if i pay another year i will have paid back 3-4k more than the initial "creditor higher" level of debt.

My understanding was that if i didn't miss a payment, and stayed within the terms agreed at the initial consultation then i would only have 60 payments. how can they suddenly ask for another year when i've not breached anything.

I feel like my DMC is not working with my best interests at heart.
Last edited by ayesha on Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Foggy
Forum Expert
Contact
by Foggy » Tue Jul 04, 2017 1:38 pm