pnn

Post by pnn » Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:19 pm
it depends if any of the debts are in his name
most of my debt is in joint names
nicky

freelili

Post by freelili » Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:33 pm
Hello Hitman and welcome

If you are considering an IVA your husbands would have to be incuded in the income/expenditure, also if you have a joint mortgage there is usually an equity release clause at some point during the life of your IVA.
I hope this helps, I am not an expert just another person in debt.
Good luck and keep posting.

LILY
LILY

http://freelili.blogs.iva.co.uk

I asked God for an answer, I have to live with his reply.
Exsisto an angelus quod planto quispiam sentio melior.

lonely

Post by lonely » Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:08 pm
Hi Hitman,

If I had gone down the IVA route, it may have been possible to keep my husband in the dark even though we have a joint mortage and equity in the house, as my payments would have covered my debt in full AND the IVA fees over a five year period. If you are in the same situation, then it may be a possibility. Also, as people have already stated, if you have any joint debts (other than your mortgage), it is likely he will find out. The only time I have heard about employers finding out is if the creditor has your work number, and they start ringing you at work to hassle you about defaults before the IVA is approved (once approved this is illegal). One way to protect yourself against this is ring up your creditors and tell them your work number is old or invalid, get them to delete it - make sure they only have a personal number to get you on. Hope this helps.

I am taking baby steps to work out how to tell my husband. I started off by confiding in a trusted friend. Good luck!

hitman

Post by hitman » Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:23 pm
I do not know who is good at arranging an IVA I am getting more confused. Is this normal I will just be relieved when i can breathe again, I feel so alone and stupid.

freelili