can bailiffs enter house to take belongings

9 posts Page 1 of 1

placid

Post by placid » Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:52 pm
I am just applying for an IVA now, I have been paying my creditors on time for the last four years, since my debts started, without defaults. now my wife is pregnant and cannot work and I am paying out so much money in repayments I have no option but to apply for an IVA. Are creditors likely to send bailiffs and can bailiffs enter my house and take my wife belongings by force?

aguise

Post by aguise » Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:13 pm
Hi
If you are up to date with your payments so far it will be along time before any bailiffs appear at the door it takes ages and they have to go through the courts.If you are sorting an iva out then this would be done long before then. If you have any problems your ip can deal with it . You will get calls from your creditors and some will say anything to get a payment but be strong and just say as your company tells you ref no etc and who they can contact.

If bailiffs should arrive you do not have to let them in but make sure no doors are open as they can enter if a back door is open, but please stop worryiung this most unlikely to happen.
Please correct me anyone if I am wrong.

All the best Ang
Please visit my blog at http://aguise.blogs.iva.co.uk/

PeeBee71

Post by PeeBee71 » Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:07 am
Firstly a Baliff would not even be involved until a CCJ was issued assuming you are talking about unsecured loans. Companies cannot just send the baliffs round when they feel like it.

What they can do is send people round to collect monies in person, but you have no obligation to let them in, or even give them any money.

If the creditor goes for a CCJ then the judgement would be for a regular payment, and baliffs would
only be involved if you missed payments on the CCJ.

That's my understanding of it - I stand to be corrected...

placid

Post by placid » Fri Apr 20, 2007 11:19 am
PeeBee71 wrote: