ending up paying more than the original debt

11 posts Page 1 of 1

deanno

Post by deanno » Sat Oct 27, 2007 7:48 pm
I have an IVA in place with a 4th year clause and we are now in the 3rd year.When the 4th year kicks in do you still have to make the normal monthly payments.I had debts of 30k and make monthly payments at the moment of £300.We are in a part ownership home and my share at the moment is worth about 50k with outstanding morgage of 18k.If i have done my math correctly i will end up paying more than the original debt.Is this right,i must of misheard at the IP meeting

gavin

Post by gavin » Sat Oct 27, 2007 7:56 pm
Hi welcome to the forum. I am not an expert
an expert will be a long soo to help you

Empty pockets never held anyone back. Only empty heads and empty hearts can do that.
Empty pockets never held anyone back. Only empty heads and empty hearts can do that.

deanno

Post by deanno » Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:20 pm
deanno wrote:

I have an IVA in place with a 4th year clause and we are now in the 3rd year.When the 4th year kicks in do you still have to make the normal monthly payments.I had debts of 30k and make monthly payments at the moment of £300.We are in a part ownership home and my share at the moment is worth about 50k with outstanding morgage of 18k.If i have done my math correctly i will end up paying more than the original debt.Is this right,i must of misheard at the IP meeting
Ok dug out the paperwork and i'm paying 70p in the pound and then 50% of the equity.My share at the start of this was 44K.Looking at other figures on here 70p seems alot

Lisa2009

Post by Lisa2009 » Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:23 pm
Sorry, i was under the impression that in part ownership you cant release equity to pay debts?? I could be wrong but im positive thats whats been said on other posts on this forum.
I'm sure if i am wrong one of the experts will slap my wrists.

mrs skint
http://mrsskint.blogs.iva.co.uk/ 'Our Story'

Nil carborundum illegitimi

Adam Davies