facing unemployment prety soon

6 posts Page 1 of 1

ioan

Post by ioan » Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:47 am
Hi,
I have an IVA, been paying it for 2and1/2 years, also I have an 130% mortgage which I've been paying it monthly for the last 3 years. I worked overseas to cope with all this debts (over 1300 pounds monthly) but now I'm facing unemployment prety soon and I wont be able to cope with my mortgage. Can you give me any advice about my situation please?
Regards,
ioan

Viki.W

Post by Viki.W » Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:18 am
Hey ioan, welcome to the forum. Really sorry about your job. Will you be getting any redundancy pay? An expert will be along shortly to help, good luck, Viki X
If you would like to talk to me about your debt problems, please visit:
http://www.vincentbond.com/about_us_Viki_Warbrooke.asp

MelanieGiles

Industry Expert
Post by MelanieGiles » Wed Jun 25, 2008 9:18 am
Hi iaon and welcome to the forum

I think the best thing to do is deal with these issues in stages.

Firstly your employment. Are you going to be entitled to any redundancy package, and how quickly do you feel that you can get a new job?

Secondondly your mortgage. Most mortgage companies - especially in the current climate, will allow a short payment holiday in circumstances such as yours. Do you have any mortgage protection insurance?

Lastly - keep your IP informed so that they are aware of your difficulties and can react in the event that you also need to take a short payment holiday from the IVA until you find alternative employment.
Regards, Melanie Giles, Insolvency Practitioner

ioan

Post by ioan » Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:19 pm
Thank you, yes I will keep my IP informed.
No, there is no insurance and only after 5 years I can apply for holiday. What happens if I fail mortgage repayments, the house gets repossesed , bankruptcy. Can the house get repossesed without going bankrupt?

luluj

Forum Expert

Post by luluj » Wed Jun 25, 2008 2:49 pm