grateful for any advice that you can give

7 posts Page 1 of 1

pde

Post by pde » Wed May 30, 2007 7:58 am
Dear Sir/Madam, I have been paying an IVA for the last 25 months and have paid off over £13,000 of my £30,000 debt. I pay £525 per month to my IVA. 5 months into my IVA I had to move home with my wife and two young children as my landlord was selling his home. I was able to rent a home for my family but the rent was £120 more per month which was a reasonable price as my previous landlord had kept my rent low and hadn't increased it for a few years. As I moved location there was an increase in council tax by £40 per month which was an added outgoing every month of £160.

I contacted my IP immediately (September 2005) but heard nothing from them. I called the office on many occasions but got passed to one person and then another. In June 2006 I had my first review and again I added these changes to my expenditure list. Again nothing changed. Each month as a family we struggle to make ends meet and have no money at the end of each month, infact I have more going out than I earn.

In september 2006 me and my wife needed extensive dental treatment which we had put off for several months as we couldn't afford it. It was only when I was in utter agony with an absess that I finally gave in and went to the dentist. Because we hadn't been able to afford to go to a dentist for several years the treatment we needed was extensice and expensive. I therefore contacted my IP on several occasions asking for a two month break so that me and my wife could recieve the dental treatment we needed. Again I was fobbed off and passed from one person to another. In the end the IVA company demanded copies of both mine and my wives dental records to prove that we needed the treatment. This I found extremely embarrassing as I had to explain to my dentist why I needed copies of my dental records. Nevertheless I did obtain copies and sent these to my IP.