Hard post to write

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
23 posts Page 1 of 2

s_murphy_pop

Post by s_murphy_pop » Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:41 pm
For a long time I've suffered from depression, and my debt of £12,190 has added to this, and I made positive steps to try and sort this out.

Because of my mental illness, my work history has been very on and off. I have harmed myself and found it very difficult to cope, as I'm sure many people on here have felt, with debt.

If it all gets too much or if something should happen to me during my IVA like if I die, what happens to my debt? I'm 29 and own nothing but a moped.

I have my creditors meeting in two weeks and I'm struggling. I'm only starting out and the prospect of five years of feeling like this is awful. Will my family (parents about to retire, brothers both working) end up with my debt? Will they legally have to pay it?

I have no life insurance or anything from work to cover death.

Shining

Post by Shining » Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:51 pm
hi there, you've made the positive steps and I would like to wish you well for your creditors meeting. Once this has been accepted (fingers crossed for you) I hope this relieves some of your anxiety. In the highly unlikely event of your death in an IVA i would have thought that your estate (assuming there is something) will pay your IVA and anything else is written off...just hang in there for someone in the know to come along but never feel alone just remember we're all here for you and most of us have walked the journey your're embarking on. x
IVA final payment left the bank on the 26th January 2013...looking forward to a debt free future.

s_murphy_pop

Post by s_murphy_pop » Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:52 pm
Thank you.

Shining

Post by Shining » Fri Oct 04, 2013 9:56 pm
You're more than welcome and like I said previous never be alone as most of the time someone is about. x