HMR&C and how they react to IVA's

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
5 posts Page 1 of 1

CashClown

Post by CashClown » Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:31 am
Hi all, I have been scanning forums for a couple of months now and am shortly entering a short-term DMP. I am self-employed (Ltd Co) and need to sort out tax liabilities as I have been taking cash for at least a couple of years just to make the minimum payments on my debts.

My question is regarding HMR&C and how they react to IVA's - I have not reda much on any of the forums I have been to and only remember seeing a comment from Melanie that most of their IVA's that fail are down to HMR&C. My OH and I are very worried at present and any advice of experiences would be much appreciated.

Michael Peoples

Industry Expert
Post by Michael Peoples » Mon Aug 09, 2010 9:48 am
Hi Cashclown and welcome to the Forum.
HMRC do accept IVAs but like most creditors they have their criteria. Compliance and not dividend is very important and if there are any outstanding returns you must get them submitted even if you do not have the money to pay them.

However, you state you are self employed[Ltd Co] which raises a number of issues. Firstly, if you are employed by your own company you are an employee and not self employed. The debts of the limited company are the company's and not yours but this also applies to the assets.

You need to take some advice to determine what debts are yours and which relate to the company. It is likely that there are personal as well as company liabilities.
Michael Peoples | McCambridge Duffy Insolvency Practitioners
http://www.mccambridgeduffy.com
If you would like to talk to me about proposing an IVA or have any questions at all please visit www.mccambridgeduffy.com

CashClown

Post by CashClown » Mon Aug 09, 2010 10:39 am