Income help and advise

5 posts Page 1 of 1

blindbrandon

Post by blindbrandon » Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:43 am
Hi I wonder if anyone has some guidance.
I am in my 4th year of a Iva but recently my circumstances have changed , I have moved in with my partner and my 2 kids , one aged 2 and the other aged 16 – still at school. My partner is not involved with my IVA from the start , she doesn’t work but claims child tax credit and child benefit . would this have to be included as my income for iva.
I claim working tax credit and with my salary included tops £ 1300 a month but my expenses have now gone a lot higher , utilities and rent as before was living with parents. Can someone advise if child tax credit that my partner claims and child benefit would be taken into account if so why as she want part of the iva originally. How much can I claim for my children whilst in a iva as my IP doesn’t seem to want to advise.

kallis3

Forum Expert

Post by kallis3 » Sun Sep 14, 2008 10:47 am
Hi blindbrandone and welcome.

I think the reason that your partner would not have been involved at the beginning would be because you weren't living together.

I am not sure about tax credits, but one of the technical experts will be along to advise shortly.
Sharing from experiences of dealing with debt
The greatness of a man is not in how much wealth he acquires, but in his integrity and his ability to affect those around him positively.
Bob Marley.
http://kallis3.blogs.iva.co.uk

MelanieGiles

Industry Expert
Post by MelanieGiles » Sun Sep 14, 2008 11:27 am
Are the children from your relationship or a previous realationship - ie is your partner their mother?

I cannot understand why your IP does not want to help you with this? That is not helpful and is exactly what IPs are supposed to do as part of their daily duties. I assume that you are with one of the larger "factory" type organisations?