IVA/Bankruptcy/DMP living abroad

14 posts Page 1 of 1

PixieBelle

Post by PixieBelle » Sat May 02, 2009 4:22 pm
Hey there, newbie here and hoping I'm posting in the right place to get some advice.
I am currently working with a great company who have helped me arrange a DMP. I've been paying into this for the last two years and continued to pay when I moved to the Netherlands a year ago. I currently have approximately 20,000 pound (sorry euro keyboard, can't find the pound key!) in debt remaining in the UK and the company who are helping me suggested an IVA may be worth looking at as it is available for a limited time after moving out of the UK.
I've read and heard different rules and guidelines when it comes to IVA regarding payment minumum. Some websites state you have to be able to commit to minumum 200 pound per month (which I can't do), others 100 pound per month minimum. I'm going to be talking it all through with an IVA adviser this week hopefully.
I guess I'm looking for a little more advice from the actual people who've been through this whilst living abroad. Some people have suggested bankruptcy as I don't live in the UK and have no real intention of moving back there for a number of years, if ever but I feel like that is just turning my back on money I was stupid enough to agree to have, then needed to have to keep my head above water. I accept I made mistakes with a lot of support in making more but don't feel that I want to relinquish all responsibility for this outstanding amount.
Anyone abroad on here and gone through this?
Anyones hands on experience regarding positive and negative choices and experiences would be really great!
Last edited by PixieBelle on Sat May 02, 2009 4:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Max

Post by Max » Sat May 02, 2009 4:31 pm
Have a word with Melanie Giles asap - she is mine and is absolutely first class - no waffle from her - straight as a dye - tells it as it is- does what she say she will do

kallis3

Forum Expert