New Bank Account

12 posts Page 1 of 1

JeepThang

Post by JeepThang » Mon Jan 26, 2009 9:59 am
Hi there, I'm a newbie here and need some advise. My wife and I have seperate IVA's. Mine was approved in December 2008 and my wife's is likely to be approved this week.
My wife's current accounts with HSBC have already been frozen as they are creditors. My Lloyds TSB current accounts have not been frozen yet, but they probably will be soon as they are a creditor of mine. We therefore need to open new bank accounts, nothing too fancy just a simple account that allows Direct Debits and provides a debit card. Obviously there will be no overdraft (don't want one anyway), Which bank is the best to approach? I've seen Co-op, Barclays, NatWest, Yorkshire all mentioned on this forum and with mixed views.
Thanks in advance

kallis3

Forum Expert

Post by kallis3 » Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:06 am
Hi and welcome.

You should have been advised to change your account prior to your IVA being approved.

Co-op are usually sympathetic to IVA's but to get the cashminder account you will need to either phone or visit, you can't do it online. With that account you can do direct debits and you should get a visa electron card. You may struggle to get a full debit card with any bank being in an IVA.

You can get pre-paid full debit cards with bill paying facilities into which you can have your salary paid, but these usually come with a monthly fee.
Sharing from experiences of dealing with debt
The greatness of a man is not in how much wealth he acquires, but in his integrity and his ability to affect those around him positively.
Bob Marley.
http://kallis3.blogs.iva.co.uk

flumpy dog

Post by flumpy dog » Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:41 am
welcome jeep.
kals right youre usually advised to switch bank accounts at the beginning of iva proceedings to avoid the off setting of funds if you have your bank account with a creditor
i had a look at yorkshire bank for you-theyre usually iva friendly.