New job, help.

14 posts Page 1 of 1

Martha07

Post by Martha07 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 4:47 pm
HI all.
I have been in an iva for 4 months and started a new job 4 weeks ago. I just received my contract today and it states,
'if the nurse is giulty of serious misconduct, including being declared bankrupt or making an arrangement with creditors, the practice reserves the right to terminate the employment.
I am now terrified I will lose my job.
Does this count as I was in the IVA before I began working for them and can they do a credit check without telling me first?
I am a veterinary nurse by the way,
thanks!

MelanieGiles

Industry Expert
Post by MelanieGiles » Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:06 pm
This rather puts the ball in their Court to deal with this if they become aware of your financial situation, which is of course a private agreement between your creditors and yourselves. It only says that the practice reserves the right to terminate your employment, not that you have to be overt and tell them about it.

And for the record - I cannot see why having made an arrangement with your creditors should affect your employment as a veterinary nurse.
Regards, Melanie Giles, Insolvency Practitioner

Martha07

Post by Martha07 » Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:26 pm
Thanks Melanie.
I had been wondering whether to just tell them about it to prevent any problems with them finding out later down the line but like you said, it is a private arrangement between me and my crecitors.
I don't know whether they ever do credit checks on members of staff but until now I have really been enjoying my new job and don't want anything to ruin it.

MelanieGiles

Industry Expert
Post by MelanieGiles » Tue Jul 22, 2008 5:28 pm
I would play dead on that to be honest - at the end of the day you are repaying your creditors and not running away from them. But do you have a HR representative, or one of the partners in the practice you could have a chat with to set your mind at rest?

Martha07