New to IVA - hoping its the right choice

8 posts Page 1 of 1

Spark28

Post by Spark28 » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:12 am
Morning Folks,

Newbie here! I am in a pit of no hope lately financially. £29,000 worth of credit card/loan debt, paying only minimum payments and nothing left over so I always re-spend.

I am married, mother to a young baby - but the IVA is just for me. Our house is mortgaged but soley in my husbands name so that I have been assured, is protected, as this was a major concern.

I dont see any other way to resolve the mounting debt, yet I still feel nervous as to if I am making the right decision. I have started the process with McCambridge Duffy after seeing several recommendations on here (thanks for that!) Part of me just wants this all organised and done and then I can stop worrying. I have so far managed to make all the minmum payments, but I have been advised by Stepchange and National Debt Helpline to stop, make token payments and wait for the IVA, I dont feel comfortable doing this, but it would give me ALOT of breathing room whilst we wait. I feel so ashamed in my debt amount, and like I've let my husband down somewhat for not being more in control of our financial situation. Alas, there is little I can do now except look to the future.

I dont know exactly what I am hoping to get out of sharing this with you all, but being able to be honest, even if anonymously is nice. I guess some reassurance wouldnt go a miss either :P

Thanks for reading my story... :D
IVA Agreed - August 2017
1 year down - only 5 more to go

Counting down the months...

Foggy

Post by Foggy » Tue Jul 18, 2017 11:49 am
Welcome Spark :-)

First I have to say that you have made an excellent choice of provider and one that has a regular contributor on forum, who can help with any issues if your case handler disappoints.