please can i have some advice?

8 posts Page 1 of 1

njc

Post by njc » Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:45 pm
Hello,

It's my first time on here and I've found it really helpful to read the other posts - I just have a few questions I hope someone can answer for me:
My partner is considering an IVA as he is in quite a lot of debt, mostly acquired before I met him and it was for his career training. We cannot carry on as we are or he will eventually start to default on his repayments. He also has further training to complete and is concerned how having an IVA would impact on this for him.
We have one joint unsecured debt and a joint mortgage but are wary of securing any debt on our property as we may not be able to keep up the repayments. All our other debt is in our own names.
I am managing my own debt, so my main question is, if he does decide to go down the IVA route, will my credit rating be affected due to the joint debt(as we are financially associated by this) and will I still be able to easily get credit in my own name? I can't take on any more debt at the moment but may want to in the future to consolidate my existing debts, freeing up money to support us both.
Also, would they consider any further career training for him as a legitimate expense or as a luxury that would not be allowed under the rules of an IVA?
To be honest, we're both losing sleep over this and he's worried about landing me in financial difficulty because of his debt. Any suggestions and advice would be much appreciated!! [:)]

MelanieGiles

Industry Expert
Post by MelanieGiles » Wed Jul 23, 2008 3:55 pm
Hi Gemma and a warm welcome to the forum

Firstly with regard to your partner's ongoing training, it may be possible to include an allowance for these costs, and I have certainly done this on many occasions for clients of my own.