Serious illness

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
640 posts Page 1 of 43

Ida Clare

Post by Ida Clare » Sat May 02, 2009 5:39 am
I need some advice, please.

Both my husband and I are in separate IVAs, we are with Payplan. Both began at the same time roughly, his a month or so after mine. April 2005 me, June for him.

We are both almost finished.

We missed one or two payments with permission and with good reason, some issues with pay being a month i hand for me not a problem there.

Anyway, we have 10 payments each roughly left.

So yesterday he was diagnosed with cancer.

I am a supply teacher and so if I don't work, I cannot get paid. I won't be able to work now, not regularly, and I cannot actually face any reality of that.

Can someone please explain to me the position re IVA and serious illness, please?

What do we do?

What will they do?

I hope I was more coherent than I feel here.

mole

Post by mole » Sat May 02, 2009 5:53 am
Hi,it sounds like you have done fantastically well to keep up your IVA for so long. You and your creditors will not want it to fail at this point. You will need to check with your IP but if you are unable to work, you may be able to settle your IVA with a Full and Final settlement (if you have any insurance payout, etc). Even if you do not, your IP could ask the creditors just to end the agreement based on current citcumstances and how much you have paid. I would think they would be sympathetic to this. An expert from an IP firm will be on shortly to give your there more considered view.
I know its a tough time for you but hang in there and don't worry about the IVA, I sure this will be sorted out ok.

Ida Clare

Post by Ida Clare » Sat May 02, 2009 6:06 am
Thank you.