Set-up stage ... calls coming in!

37 posts Page 1 of 3

alittlebitlost

Post by alittlebitlost » Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:11 am
Hi, everyone, I'm new to this.

Forgive me if I'm asking a question that so many people post but sometimes it's a bit of 'wood-for-the-trees' syndrome I suffer when trying to find the answer to a question that may seem obvious.

I'm in the process of setting up an IVA, just waiting on the draft proposal (large document) to arrive for me to look at. The calls are coming in and I worry that, although I've largely ignored a number of them and mainly delt with my IP, it will jepordise the success of my IVA if I don't speak to them.

One of the banks had a phone call from me a week or so ago to explain the situation and that I would ask my IP to contact them and they said they would cancel any charges accrued. I'm still getting letters (and phone calls, one this morning - which was an answerphone message and the number given is wrong anyway) saying I'm clocking up charges. I'm presuming it's their way of getting to speak to me so they can get money from me.

Can anyone advise on the phone call situation, please.

Thanks,
Baz.

Michael Peoples

Industry Expert
Post by Michael Peoples » Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:14 am
Hi Baz. It does no harm talking to creditors but refer them to your IP. Charges and interest are not a problem as you can only pay so much so they just reduce the overall return.

Hopefully it will be resolved soon and you can relax, but in the interim there is little that can be done to stop the calls. Best of luck.
Michael Peoples | McCambridge Duffy Insolvency Practitioners
http://www.mccambridgeduffy.com
If you would like to talk to me about proposing an IVA or have any questions at all please visit www.mccambridgeduffy.com

alittlebitlost

Post by alittlebitlost » Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:17 am
Thank you Michael, I really appreciate the advice.