Leaving job to care for parents - can't afford IVA

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
24 posts Page 1 of 2

jscsc

Post by jscsc » Mon Apr 19, 2010 4:02 pm
Hi
I am in a position where I have to leave my job to care for my parents as they have both recently fallen ill, I currently earn a little over £2k per month and pay £700 per month into my IVA, I have been paying it for 4 years.

I will get a carers allowance which isn't very much at all and will still have all my normal bills to meet. I have contacted my IP (PayPlan) but they've not been very helpful. They've said they can't help me until I know what my new monthly ins/outs will be.

Are they likely to make me bankrupt? I don't own a house I rent, and clearly don't have any savings.

Michael Peoples

Industry Expert
Post by Michael Peoples » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:00 pm
Hi and welcome to the Forum.
Given the circumstances and the length of time you have been paying you should request a full and final settlement based on contributions to date. We have shut many similar cases and I am sure creditors would look sympathetically on you. Hope it works out.
Michael Peoples | McCambridge Duffy Insolvency Practitioners
http://www.mccambridgeduffy.com
If you would like to talk to me about proposing an IVA or have any questions at all please visit www.mccambridgeduffy.com

Shining

Post by Shining » Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:50 pm
Hi jscsc and welcome to the forum, I think you're doing a wonderful thing for your parents and hope that your creditors do look sympathetically on you and your IVA concludes successfully. x
IVA final payment left the bank on the 26th January 2013...looking forward to a debt free future.

jscsc

Post by jscsc » Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:39 pm
Thank you both for the feedback, I can't pretend to understand what you mean exactly but I guess if I approach Payplan and suggest this they will know what to do and act appropriately. Just to confirm, does this mean no bankruptcy?