Full & Final Settlements

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
32 posts Page 1 of 3

Lisa.53

Post by Lisa.53 » Sun Jun 28, 2015 12:05 am
Hi, I'm just looking for a little bit of info concerning full and final settlement offers to see if it would be a viable option-(totally hypothetical at this stage as not discussed getting help from family or friends or if they could help)
I am currently in my 3rd year of my IVA, 34 repayments left (I think) and am paying £600per month (to include arrears of about £750), I am maintaining my payments with no issues and I have no change in my circumstances but I guess like anyone if it was an option to finish my IVA early I would consider it as it would give me more freedom to make choices in life, for example I would like to give up my part time job which currently only brings home £160 per month but whilst I'm in the IVA I feel I can't do this and as I am now 34 my biological clock is ticking away and I may want to start a family before the end of my IVA, obviously doing so in the IVA would lead to problems with reduced pay/hours and maternity etc and seems almost impossible. So, what would realistically be an offer that could be put forward to end my IVA now, I appreciate my remaining payments would be £20,600 but is that realistically the minimum that would be considered?
Also do you have to state reasons for wanting to end IVA early (as above) and would reasons above be acceptable (and/or acceptable reasons to offer an amount below remaining payments-ie plan to leave 2nd job or reduced disposable income due to family?
Thanks in advance for any info, be interested to hear opinions on this.

Lisa.53

Post by Lisa.53 » Sun Jun 28, 2015 12:07 am
Also meant to add there is unlikely to be any equity in my house at the end of year 5 (unless something drastic happens in housing market) at proposal I was in negative equity at forced sale value.

luluj

Forum Expert