will be paying an extra 10k into my IVA

9 posts Page 1 of 1

craig.s2

Post by craig.s2 » Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:01 am
I entered in to an IVA over a year ago with a total debt of £30k. Half of this was my student loan and at the time I was told that I had to include this. I am now thinking that ive made a mistake. My first annual review resulted in them increasing my payments from £400 to £500. I asked when it would stop increasing, as if I was to more then £500 a month into my IVA, I would end up paying more than what I actually included as debt. My IVA people told me it wont stop, and that if my salary increases, I will have to pay everything I have spare, minus my basic cost of living. I work in IT, and my salary has already increased by 10k in 2 years, at this rate I will be paying an extra 10k into my IVA....This cant be right can it?

Please advise

Lisa2009

Post by Lisa2009 » Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:29 am
You will only pay into your IVA untill the FULL original debt is paid plus fees plus any interest which is i believe 8% per annum. After that there will nothing more to pay and your IVA will end.
http://mrsskint.blogs.iva.co.uk/ 'Our Story'

Nil carborundum illegitimi

luluj

Forum Expert

Post by luluj » Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:36 am
At the end of the day if you payback 100% plus interest then well done - at least you can honestly say the creditors have their money back!
Sharing from experiences of dealing with debt

There is a solution for everyone .... Just need to stay positive !

Look at my blog "All I wanted was a baby"

MelanieGiles

Industry Expert
Post by MelanieGiles » Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:39 am
Agreed - the real motivation when entering into an IVA must always be to pay back as much as you can, but being left with a reasonable standard of living.
Regards, Melanie Giles, Insolvency Practitioner

smedleyuk

Post by smedleyuk » Fri Feb 29, 2008 11:32 am