WINE

15 posts Page 1 of 1

how-did-this-happen

Post by how-did-this-happen » Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:58 am
I thought I would share this. We can all talk all day about how we get by, but this is a bonus for me.

My wife and I like wine (with meals I should add). Obviously in an iva this is a problem when a basic bottle costs more than a fiver.

So, I started brewing my own, and it can be done on a tight budget with only basic knowledge and equipment.

I can brew 6 bottles (1 gallon) of red or white (or vimto) for probably 50p a bottle.

Not only does it taste great, it's good for moral at the end of the month when the food budget only allows for cornedbeef hash or fish fingers (you know what I mean, right)

I'll give a quick breakdown and if enough people show interest I'll do a recipe & instructions.

Ingredients.
1 carton of Aldi red or white pressed grape juice
1 carton of Aldi elderflower juice (or whatever takes your fancy)

various common brewing chemicals off ebay, low cost and will last for 3 or 4 batches

A 5litre mineral water bottle from Asda or Tesco (keep the bottle for brewing in, use the water for the wine or give it to the dog etc)

1 bag of sugar

And thats pretty much it. Ive been at it for a couple of months now and even my wife enjoys it!
(I can also do cider on the cheap but it takes longer)
Gary
learn to cook, find your faith, never say die, money isn't everything, look for the small things in life, never ignore a sunset - and listen to Melanie (never have I put so much faith in someone who scares me so much -thank you-)

Shining

Post by Shining » Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:11 pm
I'm a tee-totaller myself but I'm sure your post will interest others as every tip to save some pennies is a good one x
IVA final payment left the bank on the 26th January 2013...looking forward to a debt free future.

ChristinaG

Post by ChristinaG » Thu Nov 29, 2012 10:04 am
Nice tip!

What alternatives to elderflower do you suggest using?

luluj

Forum Expert