Yearly Bonus

9 posts Page 1 of 1

Qikichi

Post by Qikichi » Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:21 pm
Hi,

This is my first time posting so I hope I get this right.

I have a question reagrding my IVA and a bonus I received last month. I normally pay half my bonus to my IVA but last month I could not. My flat mate has been signed off sick since June last year and during that time the letting agents were changed but we recieved no notification. The problem we have now is that my flat mate is trying to get back pay for half of the rent for the months of June to December 2006. The landlord and new letting agent were threating action if this wasn't paid back. I agreed that I would use my bonus to clear the majority of these arrears. Currently there is still around £400 owing. My flat mate is still trying to claim this back pay from the council. She has been attempting this since September and it's been on error after another by the council.

My question is: Because I have not paid half of my bonus will this been seen as a default? I fully intend to pay it once the money is paid back and if not I will find another way.

My IVA is due to be reassessed and I want to explain it to my IP but I'm unsure what the reaction will be. Even without this bonus I will be paying back the full 100% as I have had 2 payrises in the two years I've been on this.

I have letters from my landlord threatening legal action and a letter in March confirming the payments made and how much is stil o/s.

Sorry if it's long winded.
37 payments made, 23 to go.

Oliver

Post by Oliver » Fri Apr 27, 2007 1:24 pm
I think that this should be fine. The only thing I would have suggested is that you contacted your IP before you paid this, but that didn't happen so there is no point dwelling on it.

Contact your IP asap and explain what is happening. Once your flate mate receives their money you can pay 50% of your bonus into the IVA.

Best Regards
Oliver

Thomas Charles and Co Ltd.
Experts in personal debt solutions.